Former President of Botswana and Champion, His Excellency Festus Mogae, awarded founding Chancellorship at Amref International University


Congratulatory Note

Nairobi, Kenya | 3 October 2019  — The Champions for an AIDS-Free Generation wish to congratulate the founder of the Champions’ Programme and former President of Botswana, His Excellency Festus Mogae, on the bestowment of chancellorship at Amref International University in Nairobi, Kenya.

His Excellency Festus Mogae is a true Champion of health in Africa. The former president was a pioneer in the HIV response, rolling out free antiretrovirals to all citizens living with HIV and forging strategies for the prevention of mother-to-child HIV transmission in Botswana.

In the former President of Botswana’s endowment of the 2008 Mo Ibrahim award, Kofi Annan spoke to Mogae’s legacy: “President Mogae’s outstanding leadership has ensured Botswana’s continued stability and prosperity in the face of an AIDS pandemic which threatened the future of his country and people.”

His Excellency Festus Mogae established the Champions for an AIDS-Free Generation intended to bring an end to AIDS and leave no one behind, through high-level political advocacy across the African continent. He is the outgoing chairperson of the organization.

As the founding Chancellor of Amref International University, Mogae furthers the vision of an AIDS-Free Generation in Africa.


 Champions for an AIDS-Free Generation in Africa

The Champions for an AIDS- Free Generation are a distinguished group of former presidents and influential African leaders committed to an AIDS-free generation. Individually and collectively the Champions rally and support regional leaders towards ending the AIDS epidemic as a public health threat, while leaving no one behind. The Champions transcend political partisanship to speak freely and independently about the issues that need solutions, both publically and behind the scenes

The Champions are chaired by H.E. Festus Mogae and comprised of Former Presidents including H.E. Joaquim Chissano, H.E. Kgalema Motlanthe, H.E. Benjamin Mkapa, H.E. Alpha Konare, H.E. Kenneth Kaunda, H.E. Olusegun Obasanjo, H.E. Joyce Banda, H.E. Hifikepunye Pohamba, a former vice president H.E. Specioza Wandira and prominent personalities including, Archbishop Emeritus Desmond Tutu, Prof. Mariam Were and Justice Edwin Cameron